Day: 21 March 2019

The three main internationally recognized formats of cricket are test cricket, one day cricket and T20 cricket. Before we can start giving you all the info you need to bet on these formats online, we must explain what differentiates them.

Test cricket

Test cricket is the oldest format of cricket. It is played over five days. However, there is still the potential for the match to end up in a draw.

One day cricket

This form of cricket revolutionized the sport. It was popularized in the 1970s. As the name suggests, this format is only played in one day. There are 50 overs for each team.

postimage WhatYouShouldKnowAboutBettingOnlineontheMainCricketFormats laptopandhand - What You Should Know About Betting Online on the Main Cricket Formats

T20 cricket

The last format only came to be introduced in the 2000s. It focuses on the excitement and the rush. T20 Cricket is scheduled to be played only outside the office and school hours, over one afternoon or evening. There are 20 overs for each team.

Betting on test cricket online

Test matches offer plenty of time to come up with a strong betting strategy. Each test match has 15 sessions. In each of the five days, there are 90 overs.

Over the five days of play, the set of conditions that impact the performance can be extremely varied. By the fourth day, the pitch is often scuffed and torn, which makes batting more difficult.

On the other hand, it gives bowlers the opportunity to wear the batsmen down with different bounces and turns.

When the weather is cloudy and humid, batting is also particularly tough. However, clear weather conditions during the afternoon can easily tip the balance.

These are just two of the countless examples. As the five days of the match can present dozens of playing scenarios, cricketers need to be adaptable and resistant.

From one day to the other, or even from session to session, betting odds can be vastly different. Logically, your online betting strategy needs to be adjusted constantly.

You need to be able to predict how various conditions impact player and team performance.

The most popular online betting odds for cricket are arguably the ones for the Ashes. This is a five-match test series hosted by each country every four years. The Ashes wagers the most amount of money in any test series.

Other popular series you should consider betting on online is the Basil D’Oliveira Trophy and the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

postimage WhatYouShouldKnowAboutBettingOnlineontheMainCricketFormats manbatter - What You Should Know About Betting Online on the Main Cricket Formats

Betting on one day cricket online

One day cricket matches are extremely popular in the Middle East and across Asia. They often attract more spectators, media coverage and bettors than test cricket.

In one day, cricket, there are some restrictions that make the rules significantly different than those of test cricket. They are mostly placed upon the captains. Naturally, you need to consider them when betting online.

The one-day cricket series commonly consist of five matches. The Tri-series present some interesting games to bet on. Three teams play one another two times before the final.

The International Cricket Council has two tournaments for one day cricket, the Champions Trophy and the Cricket World Cup. These events attract a massive number of bettors. You should check out the online betting options for them, too.

On an article coming very soon, we will go over how to bet online on the third main cricket format: T20 cricket.

Subscribe to Mailing List

Get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Follow Us


March 2019